sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


you, my family... ~ August 22, 2003 - 6:03 p.m.

I'm so glad to have a place to be, but oakland is feeling challenging.

challenging. such a good word.

I took ariana's car down to santa cruz today. coffee at the blue sun, finalizing details with steven for working at strawberry next week. I'm looking forward to it.

being in santa cruz is lovely. driving is lovely. everything familiar and sweet and sparkling in the sunshine. the sweet green smell of highway nine as it winds through the mountains.

I'll miss all this, if I do move to vermont. which is feeling, at this point, very very likely.

but it's also feeling like maybe it's a good time to let go. I love this place, and it's nurtured me, but I also know that I can make my home anywhere that nourishes my spirit. that family always finds me.

and vermont contains many wonderful and amazing people. green mountains, spring-fed lakes, sweet deep country living. and family, and family.

community is important right now. family, connection. we're going to need to care for each other through this. this unknown thing which I feel surging through my ribcage as my heart carries me on, and on, and on.

this long road, these strong arms, this time of chaos and change.

what matters to you? what do you need to be doing for yourself and those around you? what have you been putting off?

these are the questions.

I'm feeling powerful and woefully unprepared at the same time. but knowing that I'm exactly where I need to be.

and in an aside-- can I just say how delightful it is to discover, as an adult, just how fascinating your parents are as people. I had a great conversation with my dad yesterday. I bounced some ideas off him about exploring some new directions in my writing, and he gave me some thoughtful and insightful advice. amazing how little I've accessed this precious resource-- being a writer with a successful writer as a father. then I asked about his latest projects and got some interesting tales.

these are places I rarely think to go with my dad. I love how relationships just keep on growing.

I've been reaching out to people. making phone calls. I need my people right now.

don't you?

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))