sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


dinah washington and victor delorenzo ~ 2001-02-02 - 01:46:25

today felt a little lighter, a little easier than lately... maybe because the sun came out. I am so all about the sun. I just checked risa's horoscopes for the week, and was reminded that mercury goes into retrograde on the third. aww, shit-- look out kids... communication gets -really- screwy when mercury goes retro. I better finishing booking those tour dates NOW.

I went to a play tonight with my dad. I realize that I don't talk about my dad much, but he's really all kinds of cool. so many of my friends have asshole fathers, I feel really lucky to have one of the cool ones. he's a journalist of the satirical left wing political flavor, and in milwaukee he's a minor celebrity. maybe that's part of why I don't talk about him much-- a habit from when I was a kid and anything I said about my dad was considered bragging by classmates who were forced to listen to teachers going on and on about having joel mcnally's daughter in their class. they always used to ask me if I was going to grow up to be a writer like my dad. I always said no.

it's a trip, though... especially going places with him. we went out to dinner at beans and barley, and a couple stopped by the table to tell dad how much they enjoy his commentaries on the local pbs station. then on the way out of the restaurant, dad stopped to say hi to victor delorenzo (of the violent femmes), they've known each other for a long time. dad was in one of their shows once, playing the acoustic typewriter. then we went to this play, and I can't even tell you how many people he knew there. and he's always sweet and friendly to people who come up to him. he loves people-- I guess that's something I get from him. and even though his columns piss a lot of people off (he especially likes to slam on the religious right and deer hunters), my folks have always had a listed phone number. he believes in being accessible.

the play we went to see tonight was about dinah washington, and it was pretty fun. I haven't been to see a play in ages. and it was good to spend some one on one time with my dad. we don't do that much. it's one of the things I'll be glad I did when I leave here.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))