sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


garden people ~ April 22, 2002 - 10:04 p.m.

I feel so good.

it's just been a really lovely day.

gorgeous up here, sunny and warm, so nice after the weird cold snap we just went through.

and monday afternoons I work in the garden. I love working in the garden. especially on gorgeous days. I filled wheelbarrow after wheelbarrow with compost, and I was loving it. I prepared a bed for planting, mulching it over with compost and straw.

and then in the middle of it all, devaki, who runs the garden, said that I seemed like a good garden person, and was I thinking about staying on, and did I want to work in the garden more?

see, the way it works around here is that when you come for your first six weeks, you do a little bit of mostly everything for your "karma yoga" hours. (karma yoga = work trade, being of service to the community). towards the end of the six weeks, you can decide if you want to apply to stay on for another six weeks. at that point, most people start to specialize a bit more, find the areas where they work best and are needed.

devaki wants me to be one of the garden people, which means that I'd get to work in the garden all the time. oh, yes.

I've had fantasies like that, but I didn't really think I'd get to be one of the garden people (of which there are something like 3 or 4) because lots of people want that job, and I have very little garden experience. I've been wanting to learn more forever, but the right situation just never came around.

so it looks like I may get to learn how to garden for real. and spend lots of time out in the sun, with my hands in the earth, under that incredible sky that stretches out across the whole valley to monterey bay and beyond.

and the extension thing? I already know that I want to stick around for a while. and I think they'll let me.

they may even let me be one of the garden people.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))