sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


a good reason to learn sanskrit ~ April 23, 2002 - 9:48 p.m.

I shouldn't stay on too long, I've promised myself I'll do some work at 10. I'm trying to get out of the mode where I put off my writing/editing gig until the night before a deadline and then make myself crazy finishing it. right now I'm dealineless, so it's a good time to get some work done.

I just finished my reread of "the fifth sacred thing" (starhawk), and I'm feeling really emotional for some reason. like I could burst into tears at any moment. kind of tender and fragile. but not in a bad way.

today I had to show babaji my tattoo.

I'd been talking to my friend ramsharan about it a little while ago. see, I have a sanskrit tattoo on my back. which I've been a little selfconcious about since I got here, because there's a bunch of people in the community who read sanskrit-- and I don't. and what's more, I got the design from a sheet of flash at the tattoo studio, so I don't know the credentials of the designer, or if he actually knew what he was doing when he designed it.

watched over is what it's purported to mean, and I took it on faith. but ever since I got here, and people started asking me if they could read my tattoo, I've had this little seed of worry. like, what if it actually says stupid chick who gets a tattoo she can't read?

so babaji was here today, and ramsharan came up to me in the dining room and said "babaji wants to see your tattoo."

oh, my. I mean, I'd been wanting to ask him about it, but I was feeling kinda shy, and suddenly I have to go up to him in front of everyone...

so I blushed all pink and went up to where babaji sits, in front of everyone, and turned my back and pulled down my collar so he could see.

babaji doesn't speak, hasn't spoken for something like 40 years. he has golden brown skin and a long white beard and a shiny balding head with a fringe of curling white hair. he has sparkly eyes and a quick smile. he loves to laugh.

aveksh babaji wrote on his whiteboard. someone else who reads sanskrit had told me that, but she didn't know what the word meant.

what does it mean? I asked him.

will tell you on thursday, he wrote.

so now I'm all curious.

aren't you?

I guess we'll all know on thursday.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))