sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


gravel ~ June 20, 2003 - 10:11 p.m.

so, it's entirely possible I'm a fool.

I can't seem to come up with a whole lot of other possible explanations. either:

#1. I'm a fool

#2. hormones (as usual)

or

#3. Lao is some kind of bizarre parallel universe where things seem to make sense that would be insane out in the actual world.

actually, now that I look at the list, #3 is seeming more plausible all the time. as a matter of fact, it explains a whole hell of a lot.

not the least of which, why I let noy back into my bed and my heart last night, after all the strong words and my sincere belief that it was over forever.

but what the hell. love is always a mess.

I should have been able to guess by the number of times I said there was just no way I'd take him back that I was weakening.

and last night, I suddenly, abruptly, felt very weak. and he asked if he could come over... just to talk...

and I said yes. just to talk, I said.

I went home and fed the cat and cleaned the litterbox, and thought about how weak I was feeling. about how having him come over was probably not a good idea. I had more or less decided that when he called to say he was on his way, I'd tell him not to come. that I was tired, which was true-- when he showed up at my door.

he probably knew that I'd say no if he called.

so there he was, and life-- the way it does-- became an ani difranco song.

i heard the sound of your bike
as your wheels hit the gravel,
then your engine in the driveway
cutting off
and i pushed through the screen door
and i stood out on the porch
thinking fight, fight, fight
at all costs,

but instead i let you in,
just like i've always done
sat you down and offered you a beer
and across the kitchen table
i fired several rounds,
but you were still sitting there
when the smoke cleared.

and you came crawling back
to say that you wanna
make good in the end...

and when he asked if I wanted to kiss him, I said I don't know, but my whole body wanted to kiss him, and then I did. and I knew it was a lost cause from there.

so let's go before i change my mind
i'll leave the luggage of all your lies behind
'cuz i am better than everything that came before...

and I have a hard time with this. I am not this stupid. I am not the kind of woman who stays with a man who treats her like dirt.

except when I am.

I'm so strong, so independent, so fierce and sure and knowing-what-I-need.

and yet. I want this. I want to love this man. in spite of me. in spite of him.

and oh, oh,
let me count the ways
that i abhor you,
you were never a good lay
and you were never a good friend
but, oh, oh, what else can i say...

i adore you...

I just can't seem to stop coming around. he's only got one more chance with me, this much I know is true. it's more than most men get. but sometimes, this is just the way it is. sometimes you know he's not the kind of man you need, and you stay anyway. you follow it where it goes, because for some reason you feel compelled to.

all i need is my leather,
one t-shirt and two socks,
i'll keep my hands warm
in your pockets
and you can use the engine block,
and we'll ride out to california
with my arms around your chest,
and i'll pretend that this is real
'cuz this is what i like best,

you've been juggling two women
like a stupid circus clown
telling us both we are the one
and maybe you can keep me from ever being happy,
but you're not gonna stop me from having fun.

so let's go before i change my mind
i'll leave the luggage of all your lies behind
'cuz i am bigger than everything that came before...

it's enough to know that if one more thing happens, I'll leave him for good. I'll be prepared for that last thing when it comes around. in the meantime, I'll try to figure out what it is about him.

he came with me to buy my first guitar today, a cheap $40 guitar that looks like the night sky speckled with golden stars. we hung out on my patio and he showed me some chords, played me some songs. we sang together. it was sweet, peaceful. I want to give you everything, he tells me, I never want to lie to you again.

I'm letting that be enough, for now.

and you were never very kind,
and you let me way down every time
but oh, oh, oh what can i say...

i adore you...

I'm a fool, that much I know is true.

but what the hell. I'm in good company.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))