sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


thinking healthy thoughts ~ June 29, 2002 - 10:36 p.m.

today I took it really easy... I actually managed to get up and meditate and do a little asana before breakfast, though, which felt good on a whole lot of levels.

after breakfast, I basically lay around for most of the day. I finished the kin of ata are waiting for you (sweet), made a few phone calls. I reconnected with meadow, which felt really good. meadow and I were just starting to be good friends last summer when I got tangled up in that relationship with james and fell of the face of the earth. the fact that high sierra is nearly here reminded me that I haven't really talked to her since last high sierra. I'm baffled by the way time moves.

so I called her up today and we had a good chat.

then I broiled myself in the hot tub for a while, trying to kill off the last of the pathogens. my sinuses are definitely very much improved. my chest still feels a little rough, but I'm getting over it. I'm trying to think happy and healthy thoughts. I will be well by tuesday!

ravi gave a tabla recital tonight, too, and a bunch of people in the community came out to support him. ravi is 20, I think, and in a lot of ways he's really just this punk kid with an attitude. but he makes-- as mari puts it-- elegant chai, and he's got a wicked talent with the tabla.

tablas (not sure if they're pluralized like that) are indian drums that are played with the hands, and the beats and rolls are very complex, using lots of different maneuvers involving different parts of the hands, individual fingertips to create a really wide range of sounds. really beautiful, done well.

ravi was sweetly nervous, he'd lost all his performance notes and so had to put it together on the fly. his teacher was there, so ravi was hyperconscious when he made a mistake, and apologized several times. but he grooved on those drums, and we clapped and hollered and gave up the love.

he was accompanied by a beautiful woman whose name I can't remember, who had just come back from nepal. she played a stringed instrument I don't know the name of (pardon my ignorance) and a sitar, and at the end sang a couple of traditional tunes in a haunting lilt.

a good night. I'm feeling really blessed to be part of a community lately. especially when I've been so sick and everyone has been so good to me. and seeing the way we come together to support each other. it's just beautiful, really.

tonight I also got word that I'm set up to do work trade at this beautiful event that's happening in the woods outside of boulder creek in august, called firedance. I'm excited.

summertime. love it, oh yes I do.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))