sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


I am love, I am lover; I am freedom, I am free... ~ September 9, 2002 - 5:54 p.m.

this'll be short, because it's too beautiful outside to be sitting in the basement of the blue sun, and I want to get down to the river to write some poetry before the sun goes down.

I am brewing an act of poetic terrorism.

there's a ridiculous ordinance going into effect tomorrow in downtown santa cruz, one of the santa cruz business owner's associations initiatives to turn pacific avenue into a clean and sanitized strip mall, free of the creative "riff-raff" who only go there to laugh, talk, play music, dance, blow bubbles and otherwise interrupt the all-important flow of commerce.

yes, I'm a bit riled up about this at the moment.

so I'm writing a poem, to be performed over and over again on pacific avenue in flagrant violation of the ordinance. I plan to have it done by tomorrow afternoon, when the damn thing goes into effect.

wish me luck.

the inspiration struck me last night at a gathering of sweet firedance folk, at adam and jill's converted barn in the hills. we shared soup and homemade baba ganouj, laughter and truths, and then we picked up drums and rattles and began to jam... and carol reminded us of samina's beautiful song:

I am love, I am lover

I am freedom, I am free

I am part of the beauty

that is all around me

my feet are firm upon the earth

my hands raised to the sun

I am strong in my power

and with all, I am one

and we sang it over and over, drumming and smiling with ecstatic connection. I am learning to belt from the diaphragm when I sing. with this family, I am finding a safe space within which to explore my voice, and finding myself capable of more than I ever knew.

I am learning to stand strong in my power, and releasing the fear of being as beautiful as I know I can be.

at the end of that sweet night, I went home with sweet patrick and we shared our truths and our insecurities and I told him I didn't know if I could do this, and then we crawled into bed and created safe space for each other, manifesting some major second chakra healing.

this family feeds and inspires me.

blessed be.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))