sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


from kathmandu to the mekhong... ~ February 15, 2003 - 5:28 p.m.

so today I learned to do reiki, and had my first two attunements. the rest tomorrow...

the morning part of the workshop was funny, me and three women who all had other places to be and had to leave by noon.

but in the afternoon, it was just me and elif.

I like her tremendously, her and her vibrant energy and her big beautiful eyes. we interspersed reiki talk with all kinds of other talk, about life in america and life in nepal, about traveling, about people and life and loveliness.

the workshop was at the australian embassy recreational club, a little spot of farang life on the bank of the mekhong, a ways out of town. it's lovely there, if a bit disconcerting to be surrounded by white folks. they just began allowing lao families to join a few months ago, but of course few lao can afford the US$500 yearly fee. three lao families currently belong.

the manager is just a wonderful person, elif tells me. he's the one who changed the rule about lao families, when he took over. and he's allowed elif to use the facility for her workshops, since the money goes to her non-profit work.

and I have to admit, it was a wonderful place to learn reiki. it makes me giggle to think about receiving attunements from a reiki master from kathmandu while sitting on the bank of the mekhong. I mean, it just sounds like poetry.

the attunements themselves are difficult to describe, and my words always fall short when I try to talk about energy.

but let me just tell you how excited I am about reiki. this is just so absolutely the right thing at the right time.

my hands are just buzzing with it.

and I get to learn more tomorrow...

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))