sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


life in lao... ~ June 15, 2003 - 9:12 p.m.

I really should be writing an exam right now. instead I'm combing the internet for just the right e-card to send my dad for father's day. it's so hard to find a good card that's not too schmaltzy. there's some nice flash-animated stuff out there, though. classy.

this is how I know I'm avoiding my work.

somehow or another, it *will* get done. the english exam is the easy one. I can just revise my last bi-monthly and add some stuff to it. that's the one that really needs to get finished tonight. if I get most of the math exam together, I can finish it at lunch time tomorrow. and the topic studies exam can wait until tomorrow afternoon.

these are the deals I'm making with myself.

and in the meantime, I'm looking for a father's day card. maybe I'll call him tonight, too.

the cold's a little better, so that's a good thing. I figured out the skin weirdness, too-- the patch on my arm took on a form I recognized today. last time I had this, I picked it up running around barefoot at the high sierra music festival. this time it's the legacy of tupelo honey.

ringworm.

I know-- eeeeeeeew! but it't not really a worm. I wish they wouldn't call it that. it's a fungus, just like athlete's foot, except it grows in a circle. this morning, it all came together when I saw what my arm looked like, and then remembered the scaly circles on tupelo's skin. I'd wondered at the time if he had ringworm, but it kinda got overshadowed by everything else when he got sick.

so, yes, he had ringworm-- and now, so do I. the good thing is, I know how to take care of it. I have some oregano oil, which is the best anti-fungal I've ever seen, and it cured the ringworm on my foot in a couple of days.

sorry if all that grossed you out, but hell-- it's my diary.

I stayed up late last night, hanging out with noy on the corner. the two of us, sitting in his tuk-tuk, talking about all kinds of things. I'm glad he's still my friend. he still wants me back, but there's not much hope of that. how can you trust someone who lies from day one? honesty just means too much to me.

and it's true, a lot of what's come between us comes down to cultural differences. we like each other a lot, but we just think so differently about so many things.

it's looking like I may go to luang prabang for my holiday. it's a town in lao I visited very briefly my first time through here, and I remember it being very beautiful and peaceful, and I wanted to spend some more time there.

I've been craving a little peace and quiet. and johanna's heading up that way for the weekend, to do some development work, so we can hang out in her off time while she's there. it's a tentative plan, of sorts.

of course, the road between here and there has been plagued with bandit attacks in recent months, but from what I've heard there's a whole lot of military along the road right now, keeping the peace.

that's life in lao...

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))