sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


she rants about machines ~ april 3, 2001 - 1:58 p.m.

ullchhh! someone just splattered nastiness all over my guestbook... it took me forever to deal with it-- I reported the guy to both AOL and geocities, and then I had to go and delete his entries-- all eight of them... could someone please go to my guestbook and leave something nice there, so I can get this taste out of my mouth?

I dreamed about fern last night. fern, probably my best friend from college. she's in pennsylvania, and I haven't seen her in years. haven't even met her two children. I still can't believe she has two children. she's one of the many people I wanted to see back east. I keep telling myself I'll get east in the fall-- maybe. knowing, of course, that plans are always subject to change.

but still, I must be feeling the pull of all those people I love and haven't seen in so long. in the dream, I met her daughter, and I said, oh, you must be oceana... I can't believe I've never even met you..., and she was beautiful-- she must have been about 4 years old, she's not nearly that yet-- and she made me pick her up and hold her upside down, and she was giggling, and she said how come you've never met me before? and I said, well, california's waaaaaay over there, and pennsylvania's waaaay over here... but I felt so guilty. and kai was still just a toddler, charging around and running into people. and mike, fern's partner, was worried about money. and fern was confiding in me that she was pregnant again and she didn't know what she was going to do, and that this time it wasn't mike's baby but his friend carlos', and carlos was kind of a junkie and mike didn't know and she didn't know what she was going to do.

I guess I have a hard time feeling like a good friend sometimes. and I know I'm having a hard time with the fact that I'm going to miss heather's birth. and I've been trying to get out to see fern for years. and there's people spread all over this country that I absolutely adore and who I haven't seen for way too long.

this is the story of most people's lives, I guess, and I suspect I'm beginning to rant. but I don't even have the money for a phone call right now and I'm feeling very cut off from so many of the people I love, especially the ones who don't use computers on a regular basis. today I spent some time looking at the free long distance programs on the internet, and some of them will let you call a regular phone from your computer, but not a damn one of those will support LINUX.

and I just don't wanna do windows. maybe I'm just being stubborn. but with LINUX there's a fighting chance that I could fix it on my own if it broke. and I'm loving learning to navigate in an operating system that doesn't play to the lowest common denominator. but all this technology doesn't do me a damn bit of good if the people I love don't use it.

there, now I'm definitely ranting.

I keep running into people who tell me they don't use the internet. a lot of times they say it kind of smugly, as if they've won some kind of victory over the machines. I always want to say are you kidding me?? as far as I'm concerned, the internet is one of the most miraculous things to revolutionize communications between human beings in the history of human beings!

of course, anyone reading this already knows. but really, it's awesome when you think about the fact that we've got this portal to another dimension which has opened up right inside of our reality, connecting us all up, worldwide, instantaneously. and access to information?? good lord, my nephews are growing up with the whole world at their fingertips. what an incredible gift. what an infinite world of possibilities.

anyway, enough of my ranting. I miss my friends. I miss them alot.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))