sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


wearing me out ~ July 12, 2003 - 8:23 p.m.

feeling a bit off-kilter.

I'm fighting something off again, evidenced by sore throats and semi-feverish moments. I hate it, this not-being-well business. it just never seems to stop.

also fighting off hurt feelings surrounding the whole lao-boy thang. evidenced by my skittishness as my motorbike nears his corner, the tightness in my chest as I refuse to look his way.

but yesterday, something delightful happened. I ran into ariana online, and we chatted for something like three and a half hours. OH how I love that woman. she is one of the people it is most difficult to be a planet's width away from. SO good to talk to her. like a long drink of water, followed by a five-course-vegan-organic meal and a hot shower.

speaking of which, did I tell you about my dream? I dreamed I was taking a hot shower and listening to a song I loved on the radio. that was it. that was the whole dream.

that's how I know some part of me is homesick.

the most intense part of the dream was just how sensory it was. you can't imagine how good hot water streaming down your skin feels unless you've gone without for five months. and really, I've gotten used to bathing in cool water. it wakes me up in the morning. but still, sometimes I dream.

today was pretty good, too. I met up with catherine, a cool englishwoman who is working at the school for the summer. I took her out to the sauna at wat sok paluang, and to my favorite blind massage place. I lucked out with my masseuse. it was the most intense massage I've ever had. he was strong and merciless. it hurt like hell. it was exactly what I needed.

pizza at the xayoh cafe, and then I went home to teach my weekend neighborhood-kids class. next month I'm quitting with the weekends, though. it's making me crazy. only one hour each day, but weekends are *my* time. I need those two days to collapse.

this place is wearing me out.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))