sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


roads and hearts ~ March 5, 2002 - 2:41 a.m.

time to let go of that last entry. that was one of those magical ones, one of those times when you sit down to write and it becomes something so much larger than you intended. magic.

and magic... did I tell you about moontribe? no, of course not.

it was a beautiful night, clear and cool, everything smelling alive and flooded with moonlight. I set out to find moontribe, and I wound up feeling my way there without directions. I headed out to a beach where it sometimes is, and it wasn't there, so I walked down the railroad tracks towards one of the more secluded beaches. I tried not to be too invested in whether or not I found it, to just enjoy the night and the moonlight and the walk down the tracks. I knew I'd find it if I was supposed to.

about a mile down the tracks, I began to hear the faint pulse of a bass beat and I laughed out loud. I followed that bassline all the way to the moontribe, and when I heard the hum of the generator, I knew I'd arrived.

it was beautiful. kind of a low-key moontribe, this time around. I haven't been to it since last spring, and it was so good to be back. I danced and danced and danced. ran into some beautiful kids I knew, met some beautiful kids I hadn't known, and danced. and danced.

moontribe's a little different from a lot of the scenes I spend time in, because it's based in rave culture and not in tribal culture, but it's that same expression of shared human experience. we create a space in which people are free to express themselves in any way they choose, we dance all night in the moonlight, and by morning we are giving hugs goodbye to kids who were strangers at the night's beginning.

it seems to me that more and more people are craving that shared human experience, in all kinds of manifestations.

so the moontribe danced the moon into the sea, and as the sun crested over the cliffs, the djs called it a night. as a gentle sunlit quiet settled over the beach, someone called and pointed out to the ocean, and we realized that a pod of whales had come to wish us good morning. we were all riveted, laughing with awe as we watched them cresting and spouting.

I always leave moontribe feeling wonderful. tired, yes, but filled with beauty.

I gave a couple of kids rides back into town, then picked up ozone and went to zachary's for breakfast. I was still moving in a dreamworld, and tofu scramble and homefries made a good anchor. I went home and slept all day, got up for a few hours, and then slept all night.

that really good kind of tired.

and what else? I feel like there's so much to catch up on. we went backpacking this weekend, with some of our wednesday-night-dinner folk, had a good time up at castle rock. the weather's been astounding lately. I think next weekend we're going to do a slightly more challenging hike up at big basin.

and today.

I don't know what to tell you about today, except that it was an ending. ozone and I have been ending for some time, but today was the day I had to give it to words, to lay it to rest. we connected, we found some nearly forgotten tenderness, we talked and it was good.

we also went and picked up my bus from the mechanic's. we're going to work on fixing it up, so that I'll have a place to live when I leave here. it seems I'm not meant to have roots, not yet.

that's okay. I'm following my heart, and it always knows the most beautiful roads. not always easy, true.

but never boring.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))