sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


sex and motorcycle rides ~ 2000-12-14 - 20:51:20

I'm having a good time in austin... I'm at mike henry and sonya feher's house at the moment. they are both fantastic people... sonya's one of those slam folks I've never really gotten the chance to connect with before now, and she and I clicked as soon as we started talking. we stayed up til 3, just talking, talking, talking. I love that. I love connecting with people on a real level, trading stories, sharing worldviews. there's something really powerful about making those connections. I do believe that if we all took more time to talk and listen to each other, we could save the damn world and have energy left over for punch 'n pie after.

me and nick went out to see a swing band called 8 1/2 souvenirs at the continental club last night. they were really good, and nick started teaching me how to jitterbug. hooray! I've been wanting to learn how to swing dance forever, I just haven't gotten around to it. I need to start a list of things I want to learn how to do. swing dancing is one. drive a motorcycle is another.

a couple of former boyfriends were supposed to teach me the motorcycle thang... one of them, when I was 18, gave me one lesson. he showed up outside my parents' house at 2 a.m. I knew the sound of his bike, so I went out there and he said, so, you ready for a riding lesson? oh, so slick. I hopped on the back and we road down to one of the parking lots by lake michigan, empty that time of night, and he started to show me stuff. I don't think he'd fully grasped that I'd never driven a stick shift car and didn't really understand the relationship between clutch and shifter and rpms. he wasn't very patient, and after about 20 minutes, we gave it up and went for a ride. I used to love going for rides with him. we would tear all over the city on that bike in the dead of night, have wild sex in city parks. we weren't really girlfriend/boyfriend-- I didn't even like him that much-- it was a connection based strictly on sex and motorcycle rides. we were young and stupid. neither of us wore helmets-- there are no helmet laws in wisconsin to this day, probably due to the fact that harleys are made in milwaukee. we would pass cigarettes back and forth on the freeway, our hair streaming out behind us. you know, considering I survived it all, I'm glad I was a reckless kid. I'd rather regret the things I've done than the things I haven't. and about the motorcycle rides I have no regrets at all.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))