sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


sunshine, moonrise ~ October 2, 2001 - 9:16 p.m.

a quiet kind of day...

I slept late, knowing that it's a full moon tonight, and for the first time in way too long I'm close enough to santa cruz to go to moontribe. for some reason I always have a hard time believing that it's going to happen-- that I'll get to the corner where the kids hang out and it will turn out that moontribe was last night, or that it's cancelled, or that I won't be able to get directions, or...

but somehow it always does. every time I set out to go to moontribe, it happens. tonight will probably be the same.

I'm taking ozone, he's never been before. I'm not quite sure how he'll manage, since he usually conks out around midnight, and moontribe never starts before then, but if he's tired he can always crash out. we'll have the truck, too, which has a camper shell and is still set up for sleeping in the back. he got frustrated with the cramped quarters on the road, but I got pretty attached to it. hell of a lot more room inside than the peugeot.

which I should go get back from tim and sam one of these days. I left it for them when we went on the road, since their vw bus broke down. y'know, the way they do.

so today I slept late, and then read for a while, and then watched "the big chill" on cable-- this is something I do once every few years. I like it, I think it's a good movie. I know it was written for my parents' generation, but I've always felt some kind of connection to it. maybe because when I was a kid, I always wanted to live in the sixties.

now I do. I mean, really-- the world I live in now is everything I wanted from the sixties-- beautiful, passionate, spiritual, playful, peaceful, loving-- a lot of people I know believe that we can build a better world. that we can finish what our parents started and gave up on.

I know it's idealistic, especially in such terrifying times-- but where the hell did cynicism ever get us? I mean, really. I've done cynicism, and trust me, it wears thin. I'd rather be a ray of fucking sunshine, if for no other reason than because I can.

I'm an aquarius, with aquarius rising and a sagittarius moon. anyone who knows astrology knows that I am doomed to be an eternal optomist. it's an important part of my spiritual path. I believe the best of people. I seek out their best selves, some would even say I draw it from them. it's something that's become second nature to me. I love life, I love people.

because I can.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))