sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


caterpillars in the sun ~ april 24, 2001 - 12:10 a.m.

I dropped my car off at the peugeot garage in redwood city today, and then hopped a caltrain down to san jose, which is one of the closest places I could get via public trans to where pat and stacie live. caltrains are nice, and they always bring up a lot of memories for me, because I used to have a really intense lover in san francisco and I would go up there on the caltrain to see him all the time.

I called pat when I got into san jose, and we arranged to meet at the building where his company's office is-- he works at home these days. geek priveleges.

it was a gorgeous, sunny day, and I was sitting on a ledge in front of this building, waiting for pat, and next to me was this huge wok-shaped thing filled with flowers. and then, crawling towards me on the ledge, I saw one of the coolest caterpillars I've ever seen. I love caterpillars. this one had these spriggy black things sticking out of its head like a fancy headdress, and red and yellow spots, and then it had four patches of blonde hair along its back, sticking up in these perfect little tufts, and then another cluster of spriggy black things sticking straight up from its tail. it looked like a chinese dragon, the kind they parade in the streets on the new year.

I got it to crawl on my arm and looked at it for a good, long time, told it how beautiful and special it was. when it started chewing on me, I figured it was hungry, so I set it down in the big wok-of-flowers thing and it started happily munching on leaves.

I started to go back to reading my book, and then I saw another one on my backpack... so I transferred that one to its own clump of leaves. and then there were two more crawling toward me on the ledge, and I realized it was a whole caterpillar parade! have I mentioned I love caterpillars?

so, one by one I got them on my hands and set each one down on its own territory of flowers and leaves to munch. I rescued one from a spider's web, figuring it was probably too big for the spider anyway. I started to see the clusters of little furry looking sacks that they were hatching out of, attached to the concrete wall. there was nothing but concrete stretching out for what seemed like forever, and then this glorious wok of tasty flowers which the 'pillars would never have been able to crawl into on their own.

I sat there in the sun, rescuing caterpillars, and for a moment, I was completely happy.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))