sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


trying to recognize my own face ~ July 7, 2004 - 1:41 a.m.

i'm not sure what it is i'm seeing in the mirror today.

i have this kind of... fascination. curiosity maybe. it's not vanity, not conceit. but sometimes i find myself staring into the mirror, just to see my own face.

it's like i'm trying to solve a puzzle. there's just so much reflected there, and it's constantly changing. i'm astounded when i look at photographs of myself, all those frozen bits of time. i have so many different faces. so many facets of myself that surface, moment to moment. sometimes i don't even know what's going on inside of me, until i read it in my face.

sometimes i look like a stranger.

when i was first backpacking in southeast asia, i would go for long stretches of days without ever seeing a mirror. when i did encounter one, finally, there were times i wouldn't even recognize myself. wildhaired, tanned and freckled, sweat rolling down my cheeks, eyes nearly feral with the effort to contain it all.

in college sometimes i would sit on the counter in the shared bathroom of my dorm, just sit cross-legged in front of the mirror and stare into the eyes of the woman i was becoming.

there was a time on the road, years ago, when i fell into bed with a poet friend who's house i was staying at, a mistake of the kind you make when you're stoned and stupid with lack of sleep at 5am. i woke up in the morning feeling nauseous with fear, barely able to look at him. i shut myself in the bathroom for a shower and stared at the terrified eyes in the mirror, realizing in that moment how deep the mistake had been, and how badly i needed to get myself out of that house.

there's a photo of me that my mother took on the wharf in santa cruz, when they came to visit for my 21st birthday. i'm looking down into the depths of the wharf where the sea lions live, and i'm smiling a dreamy smile. what fascinates me most about that picture is that i look about eight years old. open and innocent and unscarred by the world.

there is so much inside of me.

tonight i don't even know what it is that i'm seeing. the sadness which has been haunting me since i came to this place is there, but it's not predominant. there's something else, deep and complicated and nearly unfamiliar. i look like someone i hardly know.

i guess there's something deep going on that i'm not quite privy to, yet.

it's been a strange day, cloudy and shifting, with rain and shadows and uncertain light.

it's hard to know anything for sure on days like today.

i'll look again tomorrow.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))