sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


on the day of my recovery... ~ May 22, 2002 - 8:45 p.m.

today is definitely better.

isn't that a relief?

and partly, yes, because the sun is out again. and I spent a deeply satisfying morning in the garden, watering newly planted baby beets and weeding.

weeding, oh yes. the satisfying thunk of the, um, digging thing I don't know the name of. the one with spikes on one side and something that almost looks like an axe head on the other. which is how it was described to me this morning when I was told it was the best thing to use for weeding. I got down in the dirt, kicked off my shoes, and went to town on the kale beds.

grip this stem of my history... and shake through, shake through to ugly...

rose polenzani is music like poetry and a voice so ethereal it sends chills up my spine.

I got up for yoga class this morning... something of a minor miracle since I accidentally set my alarm for p.m. instead of a.m. I woke up just in time to drag myself out of bed and to class.

which was so good. and I realized just how important the yoga is to this whole healing process/transformation thang I'm going through at the moment. coming out of certain poses, I felt a thick and fiery energy travel through my arms and out my fingertips, and I realized how much of what I've needed to release has just been stagnating inside me over the last couple of weeks, since my getting-up-for-yoga ethic has been a bit sketched.

which began with an injury that needed to heal, so a few days rest was somewhat called for. but those few days broke my flow, and I've been finding my way back to it ever since. I think it also doesn't help that I have my own room now. having a roommate who almost always got up for yoga was a great motivator.

but now that I've had this reminder of just how much it matters that I do it, I think it'll be easier. whenever I'm having trouble crawling out of my warm sheets, I can just remind myself of yesterday's meltdown.

it all needs to keep flowing through me. it doesn't matter how painful my emotional states may be at times, because it's all moving, changing, like clouds clearing away from the sun. I'm releasing old stuff, deep dark stuff that's been locked away for so long. it all just needs to keep moving.

and on wednesday nights, some of us gather for meditation and prayers for peace. we chant prayers of peace and healing in sanskrit, and then sit for forty minutes. it's a beautiful moment of quiet in my week, a good anchor. and I've been including james in my prayers, as well as others of my loved ones who are in need of healing. because I want to remember, that first and foremost I want him to be well, and happy.

and I'm excited today too, because I've been talking to this woman in san francisco about buying her motorcycle-- and I just saw the pictures. ooh, it's a sexy machine. I can't wait to go check it out in person.

see, the bike I ride has been on indefinite loan from james-- and he needs it back. so it's time to buy something of my own. he'll even help me buy it if I need him to, since he doesn't want me to be bikeless. it's really, really sweet. he knows, after all, how hard it is to go back once you've learned to ride.

and that sexy machine. I can't stop fantasizing about it. we'll see.

the only thing I know for sure is that, in the end, it really is all good.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))