sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


sickness ~ December 28, 2003 - 9:43 p.m.

this has been a difficult and painful stretch that feels endless.

and it's hard to say what all it is. I know that my health (lack thereof) is the main thing. the thing that has me feeling so drained and depleted and helpless.

because chronic illness feels like this. chronic illness feels like dying. like no amount of self-care or hot tea or vitamins swallowed will keep this body of yours from getting weaker and weaker until you die.

these are the things I am thinking about, in this endless stretch of frigid milwaukee time.

and unexplained chronic illness carries with it a tinge of terror, no matter how strong your faith may be.

I have assumed for many years now that I will live to be an old woman. I can even picture myself, rounder and wrinkly, with salt-and-ginger hair woven into thick farmer's braids, worn with overalls as I putter around in my organic garden.

this is what I believe. what I have believed for many years. what has been easy to believe while I have been so strong, and active, and athletic. I rock climb, I ride motorcycles and mountain bikes, I practice yoga, I lift weights, I run, I dance like a deity possessed. of course I will live to be a hundred.

but these days are dark and strange and cold, and I am running low on energy to sustain my beliefs. sometimes I think I will die just because I am too damn tired.

I don't remember ever in my adult life feeling so deeply fatigued for so long at a stretch. feeling so weak and sickly and beaten down.

this latest cold has had me for about a week. my body aches all over for days at a stretch. my joints creak and snap like dry kindling.

sometimes I think I was a fool to come home to a northern winter with an immune system already beaten by seasons in southeast asia. sometimes I think of running away to california. sometimes.

but I can still list on both hands a whole lot of good reasons to stay. at least for now. and I do have this strangely persistent belief that in 2004, it's all going to get better.

but I just don't know how to feel about feeling this way. I don't know how to be this weak, this sick, this helpless. this lack of light that feels like dying. sometimes I think this place is killing me.

but most of the time I don't let myself believe it.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))