sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


if that cat could talk, what tales he'd tell... ~ 2000-12-12 - 05:38:26

I had breakfast in mexico this morning... my first time in mexico. I know, I know... somehow I just never made it down there before. of course there was nothing I could eat at the restaurant. I was expecting that, I don't expect the rest of the world to cater to my vegan ass. I might have been able to eat the hotcakes, but didn't have language enough to inquire about the ingredients. nick and I ran down the list of things I can't have with the waiter--non carne, non leche, non queso, non huevos... his eyebrows just went up higher and higher. finally I asked for papas fritas, solamente, por favor. he looked at me like I'd walked in from another planet. when my fries came, I put one in my mouth and realized they'd been fried in animal fat. sigh. mexico was an adventure, though. we were only there for about an hour, since we had to get on the road to san antonio.

my last gig was in albuquerque. I left nick in arizona on saturday and headed up there. I did not like albuquerque, for no reason I can adequately explain. call it a gut reaction. the gig was mellow, the people were nice, but I couldn't wait to get out of there. I almost left right after the show to drive down to truth or consequences (the town with the best name in america). I figured I could crash there, maybe find the hostel where I stayed when I was 19, meet up with nick in las cruces the next day. but it got late and I got tired, so I crashed at don's house. I slept crazy and had nightmares involving my car getting totally trashed by vandals and being stranded in a sketchball neighborhood in the middle of the night. I kept thinking-- albuquerque's poisonous.

when I finally drove out of there in the morning, I could feel myself relaxing as abq fell behind me, the dark cloud clearing out of my head. then someone on the radio started talking about all the toxic nuclear waste buried around albuquerque from the weapons labs there, and it was like-- oh. so that's it.

I don't think I'll be going back there anytime soon.

me and nick met up again in las cruces, spent the night in el paso, and then caravaned to san antone. you can tell when you get to texas because the baseline quality of the country music on the radio goes up. I actually heard merle haggard today, which made me very happy. one of these days I'm gonna call up one of these "real country" stations on my cell phone and get them to play me my favorite hoyt axton song, which you never hear on the radio: it was dela and the dealer and a dog named jig and a cat named kalamazoo....

so now I'm in san antonio... we're staying at shaggy and amalia's house. when we got here, shaggy, amalia, ben ortiz, and a crazy cat named gordon went out with us for chinese. gordon told us all kinds of wild stories that just had us laughing hysterically. we were definitely the table that was having the most fun. then we went out to a reading called moondance (on a full moon, no less), and it was a great space, good people. after I read, everyone wanted to hug me. I've been feeling in need of love lately, too. I think I'm still getting the feel of albuquerque off me.

back at amalia and shaggy's now. nick and ben are behind me talking slam stuff. gig tomorrow at ruta maya's in austin, then I'm gonna jet back down here to catch nick's feature at the puro! slam. then on thursday nick and I feature together at the austin slam.

it's good to be in texas, but I'm feeling a little betrayed by the weather. it's damn cold. not what I expect out of texas. there may be freezing rain and or snow and or sleet tomorrow. I guess I should just consider it preparation for going back to milwaukee for christmas. good god, now THAT'S cold.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))