sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the truest thing ~ June 25, 2005 - 9:28 p.m.

it's been so long since i've had a moment to catch my breath. to write. even just to look at where i am in my life.

a magical time, i think, but in the strangest of ways. i feel on the verge of something always.

so much i haven't told you. i took my sister to LA, for The Best Birthday Present Ever. we went to go be on the price is right. (no, neither of us called to Come On Down, but it was incredible fun.) i'll tell you all about that soon, just not tonight.

and the bed that changed my life. that too, a story. i've wanted a loft bed since i was a kid, since the first time i ever slept in one. a few weeks ago, i finally got one. and it was totally one of those gifts from the universe. because i'd been wanting one more and more lately. my room was impossibly crowded, and i was sleeping in a crappy-ass twin bed the old housemate had left behind. a twin bed. suddenly i feel like i'm a freshman in college again, and every time i see it i'm reminded that i'm not having sex.

so i started obsessing about getting a loft bed, which would assist enormously with my feng shui problem and let me have a bigger freakin' bed. i wanted to build one, but feared that overcoming my knowledge gaps would drag the project out indefinitely, and the problem would remain. so i started cruising the IKEA website.

and i am so a latecomer to that whole thing.

but IKEA has some really nice loft beds. only, the one i liked, a full-size in a nice, natural wood, was $350. without a mattress. and my disposable income being what it is, i feared it would again, drag out indefinitely.

and then my sister e-mailed me a posting from craigslist. (oh how i love craigslist! a guy who lived half a mile from me was selling his IKEA loft bed, pretty much identical to the one i wanted, only with a really nice mattress, for $175.

and so now, i have a loft. and i love it, love it so. a full size bed. up in the sky. with a super comfy mattress. and with me working as much as i do, i only get to sleep in it a few nights a week. i crawled into bed the other night, and just *reveled* in it. my bed! and i think i've never really felt that way about a bed before. never had one i really truly loved. and it's about damn time.

plus, all the space i have now. although it's an absolute wreck. i've been flying so much and home so little, i haven't been able to clean and it's an utter chaos. i so need the time to clean and organize and put it all together. i'm thinking i can create a totally energizing space in there. fertile ground.

but not just yet. tonight i'm in hartford, tomorrow's my nephew's birthday, and on monday i fly to california (the gods of stand-by willing) to work at high sierra. oh, i can't wait. it's been three years since i've made it to that festival.

i called up stephen and asked him to put me to work at the show. so good to talk to him. it made me ache for my california world. how are you doing?, he asked.

oh, you know... living in the midwest is slowly killing me, but otherwise fine.

and we laughed and laughed.

he laid out what work he could offer, and said what do you think?

i think i'd better get myself to a festival before i forget who i am.

it feels like the truest thing i've said in a long time.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))