sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


can we talk? ~ August 23, 2006 - 11:12 p.m.

I'm so beat. I wish this gig didn't tire me out so hard. I've got a headache, and I don't want to be writing. writing is for writing's sake.

it's almost like I have to start with how tired I am to just get it out of the way. because when I sit down to write, that's the first thing that comes to mind. how freakin' tired I am.

but what I really want to write about is the fact that T called me today and left a message, asking if there's a time we can talk. and I'm glad. I honestly don't think she and I have anything big and bad to work out, but I think it's really good we talk. share feelings and understandings. we're all making this up as we go along.

"they" like to talk a lot about the destruction of the family, pointing to things like divorce rates and blah-dee-blah. but you know, I think we're just evolving. I think units of one man, one woman are simply becoming outmoded. they'll always be with us, but there's so many other ways and shapes of family. configurations and conjuctions of love, sex, home and caring. so many ways to be.

and it's only some microscopic sliver of time in the span of human existence that we've been able to be this self-determining. no wonder our generation seems a bit wandering and lost. no one's ever faced the vast possibilities of life that we're facing now. we not only want more than what our parents had, we want things we haven't even been able to envision yet.

we're making this up as we go along. we're exploring work, and what that means, what feeds the spirit and what numbs the mind. we're exploring love, ways and shapes and kinds, following our hearts down the wild paths they call us to. we're exploring family, tribe, community. learning how to be with each other, care for each other. we're figuring it out as we go along, pieceing it together in the shapes that seem to fit.

we fuck it up sometimes, and sometimes we get so confused that we don't know if we're standing or falling. but we weather the storms, repair the damage, regroup and move on. we're learning what our hearts have always known. we're building the houses to shelter us and finding the family that feeds us.

I think communication is one of the keys to it all. if we can just learn to talk and listen, gently and with heart. we were never really given these skills, and so we're making them up, too. and it's an incredible practice. our communication has the power to transform every interaction as humans that we have. and every human interaction has the power to transform the world, in ways great and small.

it's pure magic, words and thoughts and feelings and what we are capable of. if we just say the words. it's the silences that wound, that sometimes kill. but the right words, gentle and direct and from the heart, are what make healing possible.

(and when I make sweeping statements about the nature of the universe, do remember that I'm so tired that my eyes are swimming loose in my head. all such statements carry a caveat that reads *or this is how it seems to me, at this moment in time.)

g'night y'all...

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))