sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


wishing myself well... ~ May 9, 2003 - 6:15 p.m.

I feel as though I'm missing joy.

and I know it's in part the sickness, the malaise that has been dragging me down for something more than a month now.

but it feels like it's been so long since I've had a truly ecstatic experience, the kind that makes me throw back my head and laugh to the sky for the sheer joy of living.

but I am learning, and maybe that's what this experience is about. I am learning so much.

I'm tired of the sickness, though. and I don't know how to feel about the fact that I've thrown myself on the mercy of western medicine, in spite of the fact that it's rarely done a damn bit of good for me. but I guess I figured that rat-borne bacteria is one of those things which actually makes anti-biotics seem like a really good thing. and then there's the cough medicine, and I don't even know what that is, since I don't recognize the name... and I started on a new course of different antibiotics today, after 10 days of doxycycline... and then, of course, the valium. because I can't. freakin'. sleep. otherwise.

because the fact is, I'm still sick. but also, it feels like I'm maybe a tiny bit better today than yesterday. and yesterday a bit better than the day before. and I'm remembering why I love teaching. and I'm starting to remember that I didn't always feel like this.

I wasn't always so damn tired.

anyway, that ramble, is just me trying to work out how it is I went from being vegan organic girl to being someone who pops several pills a day. but one day it will be over. one day I will be well again.

may it be soon.

no destination continues to be a very good read. the book is now cluttered with little bookmarks in the places that made me say yes!

some gems from satish kumar:

"An organic gardener like Lady Eve uses all waste such as weeds, autumn leaves and kitchen refuse in a compost, and recycles and transforms waste material into food for the soil. A seeker of spiritual wisdom can transform waste material such as anger, greed, lust, fear and pride into energy for the soul."

"For myself, I consider myth to be more capable than history of encompassing the complexity of truth. History is merely the accumulation of facts. Truth includes intuitive, experiential and even irrational as well as rational aspects; fact is one aspect of the truth, but truth is greater than fact."

wish me well.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))