sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


it's always raining at the DMV ~ june 5, 2001 - 4:18 p.m.

somehow, whenever I go to the DMV, it always ends in tears.

the day started off well enough, gorgeous and sunny and I got my ass out of bed in time to get down to santa cruz with my smog certificate in hand, hoping for a brand new shiny red registration sticker so that I can stop getting pulled over and living in fear that they'll impound my car or take me to jail.

ah, and it seemed so possible, too.

turns out I have unpaid parking tickets-- no big surprise-- that need to be paid before they'll give me the damn sticker. almost three hundred dollars worth. guess who doesn't have three hundred dollars. guess why they went unpaid for so long and went up so high. yep, cause I have no money. now you're getting it... girl with no money is screwed no matter what she does.

I was already crying by the time we got through all that. then I tried to get them to replace the license that was in the backpack that got stolen while I was working at strawberry. oh, yes, that's a whole story in itself. turns out I have two "failure to appears" which I didn't even know about, and they won't even give me a replacement license until that's taken care of.

that's when I really started crying. I swear to god, just about every time I have to deal with any kind of government paperwork and people behind desks, it always turns into a nightmare and I always wind up crying. the people behind the desks either get really mean or really nice when I start to cry. today I lucked out and got one of the nice ones, a sweet, whitehaired woman with an emphyzema voice and a daughter in a similar situation.

so tomorrow morning I go to court to see what I can work out. I fully expect to wind up in tears again.

oh, yeah, and I got stood up by ever last night, I don't know why. I can't exactly pick up the phone and call him.

in spite of all the tears, life is good. it's summertime here, and there's music and beautiful people and sunshine all around me. so if you see me crying, give me a hug and let's go play on the beach somewhere.

I've probably just come from the DMV.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))